Add Your Review

Thanks for visiting Tug's Proper. We'd love to have your feedback!

Highlands, N.C.

Don't remember the name of your dish? Find it on our menu!

Which dish or item did you try?

You are submitting your information to Tug's Proper and Popmenu, which powers this site and is sponsoring this giveaway. By submitting, you agree to the Popmenu and .

Our Latest Reviews

Ri 27 days ago

Fried Green Tomatoes

First the ambiance! Second the drinks! and as for my favorite dish is the Fried Green tomatoes. I enjoy the pimento cheese and Blackeyed pea salad plus the Cajun ranch sauce is sooooo delicioso! I get this as a meal itself. Highly recommended!!!

Julie about 1 month ago

Coconut Crusted Shrimp

Best food in both OUR entire lives! 2 orders coconut shrimp 🍤, cheesesteak and 4 layer chocolate cake was ALL savory and delicious! This is a hidden GEM, was not an ordinary sandwich 🥪 as you would THINK 💭, was real chef's with the best seasoning EVER. Coming back JUST to eat here TWICE, no kidding, getting "to go desserts" so we can try more on the menu! He is 51 & we have been to 60$ Plus a head restaurants and THIS one topped them ALL!!...amazing get dinner reservations...made red lobster shrimp taste like a $2 microwave dinner, everything was savory! Seriously!

Guest 2 months ago

Trout Piccata

Had it Friday night. Had never heard of Trout Piccada but love trout and have it all over the US lower 48. This is easily one of my top 10 meals of all time. It was superb.

Ash 3 months ago

Fried Pickles

Visited the bar for afternoon drinks and a snack. The bartender Marvin was a delight and the food and drinks were great. Loved the space inside especially the art on the walls. Will definitely visit again.

Alib717 3 months ago

Chicken Piccata

The chicken piccata is absolutely amazing. My only complaint is that it isn't on the lunch menu and that tends to be when I am able to make it in. It's definitely a 10/10.

Edwinlovin about 1 month ago

Trout Piccata

You will not be disappointed from the service, diggs and the excellent food. Number ONE spot when visiting Highlands.

Denise about 1 month ago

South Philly

I've had many things at Tug's Proper... for lunch and dinner and all are spot on! Seriously , consistently good food ! I have never been disappointed with the food. It's such a nice atmosphere, great music, decor and vibe. The bar and wait staff are quite nice too! I love this place! Very CONSISTENT in serving you good food. Such a great addition to a great town!I For lunch, the item I HAVE TO ORDER once sometimes, twice a week when I'm back to my Highlands' house is the Philly cheese steak sandwich!!! SOOOO GOOD!! The flavor is right, the onions and peppers are so sweet with melted provolone and most importantly for a sandwich , the meat to bread ratio is correct and BONUS it's the right bread !!! I crave this when I'm not in Highlands. You cannot go wrong. best lunch ever! All the sides are good, but I must admit I favor the potato salad :) I quite often order this to go because... I HAVE TO HAVE IT :) Enjoy... Oh Boy... craving it now....

Boundlessbell 3 months ago

Beyond Burger

This place is amazing ! Excellent knowledge and service and care for my dietary limitations!

Alib717 3 months ago

Tomato Basil Soup

This soup is what dreams are made of! I order a cup every single time I eat at Tug's. Absolutely a must have!

Donna 4 months ago

Cheeseburger*

The best cheeseburger on the Plateau!!!



PAST DRAWING WINNERS

May 2021:
Coming soon

April 2021:
Travis, El Monumento
Georgetown, TX

March 2021:
Susan, Alden Park
Plymouth, MA

February 2021:
Leilani, Hon Machi Korean BBQ
San Antonio, TX

January 2021:
Goodrich Seafood & Oyster House

December 2020:
Hallee, Pizza Sociale
Los Angeles, CA

November 2020:
Barbara, PPC Italian Restaurant
Plaistow, NH

October 2020:
Charn, Vitaly
Costa Mesa, CA

September 2020:
Carol, Stroud's BBQ
Daytona Beach Shores, FL

August 2020:
Jo-El, Mick's All American
Mount Joy, PA 

July 2020:
Bronson, Los Dos Potrillos 
Colorado

June 2020:
Elish, Crump's Landing
Homosassa, FL

May 2020:
Carlson, Papi Grande's Mexican
Amherst, NY

April 2020:
Sommer, Little Calf Creamery 
Thousand Oaks, CA

March 2020:
Theresa, Woody's Crab House
North East, MD

February 2020:
Maria, The Rustik Fork
Riverside, CA

January 2020:
Marsha, Stefano's Restaurant
Florence, SC

December 2019:
Alma, Karai Ramen Bistro
Jacksonville, FL

November 2019:
Courtney, Axe & Arrow
Seattle, WA

October 2019:
Andy, Backwoods Brewing Co.
Portland, OR

September 2019:
Amanda, Home Restaurant
Los Angeles, CA

August 2019:
Jennifer, Mark's City Grill
Columbus, GA

July 2019:
Rebecca, Frank Gourmet
Buffalo, NY

June 2019:
Donna, Dino's Sports Bar
Cape Cod, MA

May 2019:
Karen, This Little Pig
Amherst, NY

April 2019:
Alicia, Plant Based Pizzeria
Atlanta, GA