Add Your Review

Thanks for visiting Tug's Proper. We'd love to have your feedback!

Don't remember the name of your dish? Find it on our menu!

By submitting, you agree to our , and .

Our Latest Reviews

Alfordt 24 days ago

Trout "Piccata"

My favorite entree at Tugs! Absolutely delicious! Pairs well with another favorite, lemon drop martini! Danielle served us, as we were sitting at the bar. She's amazing and has such a vibe with the customers! We love the cool decor of Tugs. Our #1 place to dine while in Highlands! And we go often! Bon Appetite!

Alexandra about 1 month ago

Philly

Excellent! Best one I have had in a long time!

Ckitchens 3 months ago

Trout "Piccata"

Had a wonderful dinner. Everyone in our group enjoyed their meal. I had the trout piccata which was outstanding. I look forward to returning.

Patce 3 months ago

Ahi Tuna Salad*

The very best Ahi Tuna Salad anywhere. Great atmosphere, great service and bar.

Clwilliams 4 months ago

Ahi Tuna Salad*

The Ahi Tuna salad was perfect! The service was friendly and prompt. We love the atmosphere! We returned for dinner on a UGA football weekend and really enjoyed our dinner and the crowd! The filet was amazing ! Cheryl

Clnantz 4 months ago

Charred Beet Salad

Gorgeous AND delicious. I added grilled chicken. 💙 Will definitely return to try more!

Higgskim 4 months ago

Buttermilk Chicken Caesar*

The chicken was amazing!!!! The salad dressing was light but filling. Packaged so carefully. Loved it!!!

Danielc2260 4 months ago

Charred Beet Salad

This was one of the tastiest, freshest & creative salads I've ever had. I love beats abs have not seen beats in other colors. Thank you for a healthy experience.

Jill 5 months ago

Trout "Piccata"

I was pleasantly surprised at the size and preparation of the trout. I'd order it again in a heartbeat. The buerre blanc sauce was not too heavy and just the perfect balance with the whipped potatoes. My dining partner had the P.E.I. Mussels and Caesar salad- both dishes which also put her in the clean the plate club!

Missywoolf 5 months ago

Trout "Piccata"

I never write reviews, but Tugs Proper went above and beyond to accommodate my food allergy. I ave an alpha gal food allergy and they custom created the trout piccata to my allergy need and it was absolutely amazing. I am forever grateful that my server took my allergy serious and the service was exceptional! I can't wait to go back! Side note: The live music was fabulous.

Lcwells 5 months ago

Goat Cheese Spinach and Butternut Squash Dip

We had a group of 4 adults and 5 kids. Everyone loved their meals and the atmosphere was great! We'll be back

Sdb1020 6 months ago

Charred Beet Salad

This was a fresh, well-presented, and delicious lunch salad. The golden beet was wonderful, and the pistachios added that extra-special flavor and touch to the salad. The greens were perky...very impportant! Nothing worse than soggy or old greens.

Darcy 6 months ago

Beef Tips*

As we walked in the door, we noticed the decor. Beautifully done in an almost shabby chic. Comfortable and well thought out with artwork of interesting photographs from the area. Staff was extremely warm and friendly. Led Zeppelin was playing. The menu is amazing. Hard to choose just one item. We each got a different dish and sampled each other's. You can't go wrong with anything you order. The fish melts in your mouth, the sauces are 5 star. Even the fried pickles are almost gourmet! Key Lime pie is the best I've tasted. Then, just when you think it can't get better, it does. We are having our wedding luncheon here. There are glass doors to divide our party from the rest of the restaurant. They are very responsive and the two people I've talked to so far are very accommodating. So if you're looking for a quiet romantic dinner, some place to take the family or perhaps a large party, THIS is your place! Trust me! Stay tuned for our review after our wedding in October. We'll let you know how they did. 😀

Susie 6 months ago

Goat Cheese Spinach and Butternut Squash Dip

This was so different and tasty! Had it as an appetizer and took some home for lunch the next day. Warmed up it was still great.

Kathrynknudson100 6 months ago

Black Angus Filet

Excellent filet. I eat out nightly in Atlanta and Highlands so I go to many different restaurants and try many different entrees. The filet at TUGS is one of the best I've ever enjoyed. That, coupled with the relaxed and inviting decor, make this a go to spot in Highlands. (And Amber is a great server!).

Vandyvmccall 6 months ago

Grilled Spanish Octopus

Hands down best calamari I've ever ate!!!!

Herbbman 6 months ago

Grilled Spanish Octopus

What a TREAT! We were so pleasantly surprised to find TUG's taking over the old Sportspage location. We have now been a few visits but will be going again soon! What an upgrade and beyond any expectation! The colors, decor, ambiance is first rate, a calm cool relaxing venue. Plenty of space and comfortable. Decor is top rate! Dinner tables, along with bar area and relaxing spaces with cushy seating! Something for everyone, young and old! Service is delightful, clean neat staff, each one knowledgeable and friendly, prompt and always ready to please. The bartenders are creative and funny with great personalities! Drinks are strong and flavorful. What a great menu, from specialty seafood, like the tender, delicious octopus, unique Salmon BLT, great salads, and the best hamburgers I've ever tasted. True that! Quality - but unpretentious - wines. What a GEM and an asset to add to the Highlands experience, this is gold in the hills!

Pat 7 months ago

Key Lime Pie

Fabulous...sells out!

Zvgreen30 7 months ago

U-10 Diver Scallops

The scallops were great, I really loved all the flavors incorporated in the dish. Also, the restaurant has a nice atmosphere and I couldn't have asked for a better waitress than Daisy!

Darcyarcher 7 months ago

Steak Tips Au Poive

We found this little gem less than an hour after my fiancée proposed. We weren't disappointed. The decor and ambiance is so relaxing. From the fried pickles, wine, salad to these amazing steak tips, everything was wonderful. The sauces are delicious, words cannot do them justice. The dipping sauce from the fried pickles is fabulous. The breading doesn't fall off. My fiancée had a white fish that melted in our mouths. They gave us a complimentary slice of key lime pie to congratulate us. Delicious!!!! We were so impressed that we are having our reception luncheon here! Great job!

Betty 24 days ago

Corn Dusted Fried Calamari

These were so, so delicious.

Dusthein28 about 2 months ago

Chicken Salad

Chicken Salad Sandwich was the perfect lunchtime meal to fuel your day like a true hometown "Patriot"! Tell your server that you want it how Tug likes his so you can eat like a true Highlands ambassador... Great atmosphere, Beautiful Bar, Amazing staff and The Kitchen Team are some of Highlands finest. Ken and Tug will always treat you right nice....just like your family, Seeee!!! p.s.....Vote Helmer2020!!!*

Mjcorrell88 3 months ago

Reuben

Spot on Rueben. Great kraut, plenty of meet, and spectacular bread.

Beking 3 months ago

Reuben

Wonderful portion and so delicious. A side of fries just the right crispness and enough for two! Amy, our server extremely helpful, efficient and sweet!

Ccott2 4 months ago

Trout "Piccata"

Best Trout dish in Highlands. I have tried them all- Paolettis, Log cabin, meritage, Madisons. This is the best.

Rnrbaer27 4 months ago

Goat Cheese Spinach and Butternut Squash Dip

We were going to bypass the appetizers as we were ready for a meal but found the goat cheese, spinach, & butternut squash dip too intriguing to pass up. What a great starter! It was comfort food with an autumnal twist! The accompanying warm naan bread was the perfect vessel for this unique dish.

Pathomas359 4 months ago

Charred Beet Salad

Was in Highlands last month & enjoyed lunch. The ambiance is beautiful. Sadly I have been trying to reach you by phone all week to set up anniversary dinner for 10/18. I need a gift certificate & reservation if possible. 😊

Katie331 4 months ago

Salmon B.L.T.*

Great food and great atmosphere!

Jrwoolf 5 months ago

Pork Rib Chop*

One of the absolute best pork dishes I have ever had

Jrwoolf 5 months ago

Buttermilk Chicken Caesar*

The absolute best Caesar I have ever had. Tasty and filling.

Ksamford 5 months ago

Double Beyond Burger

The Beyond Burger is fabulous!!! It is now what I order every time I go to Tug's. I'm thrilled to find a meatless burger that tastes Just Like a Hamburger!!!

Jamesjohnson 6 months ago

Grilled Veal Meatloaf

The food was great and reasonable priced. We strongly recommend Tugs.

Rachelsmth9 6 months ago

Tapas Plate

The Tapas Appetizer plate was delicious. The octopus was tender, the sauces were excellent and the whole plate was a delight to share.

Susie 6 months ago

Beef Tips*

Tender and delicious!

Tomgardner 6 months ago

Reuben

Great atmosphere, service and food.

Ansg 6 months ago

Fried Green Tomatoes With Shrimp Remoulade

Food was delicious! A little disappointed their frozen drink machine wasn't working but, the cosmo was good.

Pat 7 months ago

Steak Tips Au Poive

Great dish...loved the sauce and mushrooms!

Pat 7 months ago

Trout "Piccata"

Wonderful dish and presentation...loved it!

Kylejroberts 7 months ago

Beyond Burger

The Beyond Burger was excellent! My husband had the double cheeseburger and he loved it! Great atmosphere and wine selection! I highly recommend Tug's!

Linda 7 months ago

French Toast

Absolutely LOVED the atmosphere.....Breakfast was yummmmmy and filling! Will definitely be back again. We needed this place in Highlands.



PAST DRAWING WINNERS

January 2020
Coming Soon

December:
Alma, Karai Ramen Bistro
Jacksonville, FL

November:
Courtney, Axe & Arrow
Seattle, WA

October:
Andy, Backwoods Brewing Co., Portland, OR

September:
Amanda, Home Restaurant, Los Angeles, CA

August:
Jennifer, Mark's City Grill - Columbus, GA

July:
Rebecca, Frank Gourmet - Buffalo, NY

June:
Donna, Dino's Sports Bar - Cape Cod, MA

May:
Karen, This Little Pig - Amherst, NY

April:
Alicia, Plant Based Pizzeria - Atlanta, GA