Add Your Review

Thanks for visiting Tug's Proper. We'd love to have your feedback!

Highlands

Don't remember the name of your dish? Find it on our menu!

Which dish or item did you try?

You are submitting your information to Tug's Proper and Popmenu, which powers this site and is sponsoring this giveaway. By submitting, you agree to the Popmenu and .

Our Latest Reviews

Wkdlmartin 7 days ago

Fried Pickles

This was our first time at TUGS for lunch. The Tomato Basil soup was excellent, as were the fried pickles. We order fried pickles everywhere we eat, and these are by far the best. Will definitely eat here again on our next trip to Highlands.

Jennypapevies 25 days ago

Charred Beet Salad

Excellent salad!!! I will be back to order this again!!!!

Rmattox about 2 months ago

Beef Tips*

We were in town for three days and had FOUR meals at Tugs! Atmosphere is wonderful and also enjoyed having the option to eat outdoors Burgers and salads at lunch, chicken Alfredo, meatloaf and beef tips for dinner in addition to taking the cranberry bread home for breakfast! We were impressed last year and this year was superb

Drew about 2 months ago

Corn Dusted Fried Calamari

Great meal, good drinks, excellent service at the bar.

Jeanmmckinney about 2 months ago

Fried Green Tomatoes

Fried green tomatoes, Reuben Sandwich chicken Caesar & soup, . My boyfriend doesn't normally like Reuben sandwich but he loves it. We really really love the fried green tomatoes- totally delicious and unique not your regular FGT. The service is superb! We cannot wait to come back. We drive 2 hrs to get to Highlands and happy to try this new restaurant. We didn't plan to eat because we were gonna go to Julep but so so so glad we stopped by.... Highly recommended!!!

Kevinwp 2 months ago

Philly

I'm from the Philadelphia area and this is the Best Philly Cheesesteak I've had anywhere south of the Mason-Dixon Line. Generous helping of tender steak, fresh onions and the best cheese sauce on an authentic, crunchy sub roll. Will definitely be back for another soon.

Ssnkec 3 months ago

Trout Piccata

Restaurant was very nice! Service was excellent! Food was delicious with a nice presentation. Waitress was top notch! I would definitely eat there again! Wonderful meal!

Perrymyers 3 months ago

Reuben

Tugs is a great place to eat in Highlands. It's one of those "step up" restaurants. The atmosphere is excellent. Tug himself is very personable as well. The first time I met him was at Highlands Country Club. He invited me and my family inside for a cup of coffee on a rainy day. His kindness, warmth, and taste for adventure is reflected in his restaurant. I have only eaten here once, and hope to become a recurring customer.

Isiscolex 3 months ago

Beyond Burger

So good honestly a favorite of mine since they opened up last year

Cheryl 5 months ago

Ahi Tuna Salad*

We had the Ahi Salad which was wonderful and the Beyond Burger which was delicious! The one choices are excellent and the prices are reasonable. we have eaten there for lunch & dinner and have brought our family as well. We always enjoy the atmosphere and the service at Tug's and we look forward to returning!

Pegprizes 7 months ago

Reuben

Excellent. Service was good and Reuben was on par w anything in nyc

Dale 8 months ago

Corn Dusted Fried Calamari

LOVED the Calamari!!! Perfectly, and lightly breaded and fried. Cooked properly without being overdone. Yum!

Betty 8 months ago

Corn Dusted Fried Calamari

These were so, so delicious.

Dusthein28 9 months ago

Chicken Salad

Chicken Salad Sandwich was the perfect lunchtime meal to fuel your day like a true hometown "Patriot"! Tell your server that you want it how Tug likes his so you can eat like a true Highlands ambassador... Great atmosphere, Beautiful Bar, Amazing staff and The Kitchen Team are some of Highlands finest. Ken and Tug will always treat you right nice....just like your family, Seeee!!! p.s.....Vote Helmer2020!!!*

Mjcorrell88 10 months ago

Reuben

Spot on Rueben. Great kraut, plenty of meet, and spectacular bread.

Beking 11 months ago

Reuben

Wonderful portion and so delicious. A side of fries just the right crispness and enough for two! Amy, our server extremely helpful, efficient and sweet!

Ccott2 11 months ago

Trout Piccata

Best Trout dish in Highlands. I have tried them all- Paolettis, Log cabin, meritage, Madisons. This is the best.

Rnrbaer27 11 months ago

Goat Cheese Spinach and Butternut Squash Dip

We were going to bypass the appetizers as we were ready for a meal but found the goat cheese, spinach, & butternut squash dip too intriguing to pass up. What a great starter! It was comfort food with an autumnal twist! The accompanying warm naan bread was the perfect vessel for this unique dish.

Pathomas359 12 months ago

Charred Beet Salad

Was in Highlands last month & enjoyed lunch. The ambiance is beautiful. Sadly I have been trying to reach you by phone all week to set up anniversary dinner for 10/18. I need a gift certificate & reservation if possible. 😊

Katie331 12 months ago

Salmon B.L.T.*

Great food and great atmosphere!

Keferman 8 days ago

Fried Green Tomatoes

I have traveled the south and have ate at some of the best restaurants looking for the perfect fried green tomato! I have found it at Tugs! The warmth of the fried tomato along with the cool sensation of the flavored toppings creates a delicate blend of a tasty eating experience.

Pamjoymorris about 1 month ago

Trout Piccata

I first tried this dish September 2019. I remember using my finger to scrape up the sauce. It was truly a memorable experience and best trout I had ever had in a restaurant. It is light, cooked perfectly and the sides are delicious. When we decided to return to Highlands for the summer I told my husband that our first night out I wanted to go back to Tugs for the trout. I did, and we have been back 3 times since, each time I am compelled to order the trout! I also love the calamari and Caesar salad. I hope they keep it on the menu forever 🥰

Heather about 2 months ago

Rose Rock, Oregon

Yummy and light!!!

James about 2 months ago

Ahi Tuna Salad*

Love the Art, a fantastic Owner and our time there was a blast, Drinks were strong a d the food wonderful, Thanks Tug!

Rmoorhead 2 months ago

Fried Green Tomatoes

I go to a restaurant for the ambiance, the drinks, and for the unique quality and presentation of the food. TUG's gets 5 stars on all the above. The FGT was outstanding! The presentation was phenomenal, the sauce offered a good subtle smoky flavor but not over bearing. I don't recall the exact bar specialty drink I ordered but I will never forget just how good it tasted. This restaurant deserves much success.

Clairecompton714 3 months ago

Trout Piccata

This is a truly special dish. It is an elegant and elevated take on the traditional chicken piccata. I would choose this preparation over the traditional any day. The serving is always generous, and the flavor plentiful. Everything about this is wonderful; I find it photograph worthy. If you're looking for a special occasion dinner, this is the dish and the place to suit your needs.

Susan 3 months ago

P.E.I. Mussels

Amazing. Tons of flavour. Great atmosphere.

Iecolexlonginos 3 months ago

Tomato Basil Soup

The soup here taste amazing! It's always the perfect temperature, not too hot but also not cold! Love the tomato basil soup with an Arnold Palmer as a drink.

Morton 3 months ago

Tomato Basil Soup

I happen to be a big fan, and I never had better. Superb!

Restoringam4 7 months ago

Fried Green Tomatoes

Incredibly innovative and equally delicious! The fried green tomato dish is spectacular! Also must have are the calamari and the tuna salad .... Surely an unforgettable culinary find!

Hcanderson1 7 months ago

Philly

Beautiful space, great service and yummy sandwich! Highly recommend !

Alfordt 8 months ago

Trout Piccata

My favorite entree at Tugs! Absolutely delicious! Pairs well with another favorite, lemon drop martini! Danielle served us, as we were sitting at the bar. She's amazing and has such a vibe with the customers! We love the cool decor of Tugs. Our #1 place to dine while in Highlands! And we go often! Bon Appetite!

Alexandra 8 months ago

Philly

Excellent! Best one I have had in a long time! A must try!

Ckitchens 10 months ago

Trout Piccata

Had a wonderful dinner. Everyone in our group enjoyed their meal. I had the trout piccata which was outstanding. I look forward to returning.

Patce 10 months ago

Ahi Tuna Salad*

The very best Ahi Tuna Salad anywhere. Great atmosphere, great service and bar.

Clwilliams 11 months ago

Ahi Tuna Salad*

The Ahi Tuna salad was perfect! The service was friendly and prompt. We love the atmosphere! We returned for dinner on a UGA football weekend and really enjoyed our dinner and the crowd! The filet was amazing ! Cheryl

Clnantz 11 months ago

Charred Beet Salad

Gorgeous AND delicious. I added grilled chicken. 💙 Will definitely return to try more!

Higgskim 12 months ago

Buttermilk Chicken Caesar*

The chicken was amazing!!!! The salad dressing was light but filling. Packaged so carefully. Loved it!!!

Danielc2260 12 months ago

Charred Beet Salad

This was one of the tastiest, freshest & creative salads I've ever had. I love beats abs have not seen beats in other colors. Thank you for a healthy experience.

Jill 12 months ago

Trout Piccata

I was pleasantly surprised at the size and preparation of the trout. I'd order it again in a heartbeat. The buerre blanc sauce was not too heavy and just the perfect balance with the whipped potatoes. My dining partner had the P.E.I. Mussels and Caesar salad- both dishes which also put her in the clean the plate club!



PAST DRAWING WINNERS

August 2020:
Jo-El, Mick's All American
Mount Joy, PA 

July 2020:
Bronson, Los Dos Potrillos 
Colorado

June 2020:
Elish, Crump's Landing
Homosassa, FL

May 2020:
Carlson, Papi Grande's Mexican
Amherst, NY

April 2020:
Sommer, Little Calf Creamery 
Thousand Oaks, CA

March 2020:
Theresa, Woody's Crab House
North East, MD

February 2020:
Maria, The Rustik Fork
Riverside, CA

January 2020:
Marsha, Stefano's Restaurant
Florence, SC

December 2019:
Alma, Karai Ramen Bistro
Jacksonville, FL

November 2019:
Courtney, Axe & Arrow
Seattle, WA

October 2019:
Andy, Backwoods Brewing Co.
Portland, OR

September 2019:
Amanda, Home Restaurant
Los Angeles, CA

August 2019:
Jennifer, Mark's City Grill
Columbus, GA

July 2019:
Rebecca, Frank Gourmet
Buffalo, NY

June 2019:
Donna, Dino's Sports Bar
Cape Cod, MA

May 2019:
Karen, This Little Pig
Amherst, NY

April 2019:
Alicia, Plant Based Pizzeria
Atlanta, GA