Add Your Review

Thanks for visiting Tug's Proper. We'd love to have your feedback!

Don't remember the name of your dish? Find it on our menu!

By submitting, you agree to our , and .

Our Latest Reviews

Susan 2 days ago

P.E.I. Mussels

Amazing. Tons of flavour. Great atmosphere.

Iecolexlonginos 12 days ago

Tomato Basil Soup

The soup here taste amazing! It's always the perfect temperature, not too hot but also not cold! Love the tomato basil soup with an Arnold Palmer as a drink.

Morton 16 days ago

Tomato Basil Soup

I happen to be a big fan, and I never had better. Superb!

Restoringam4 4 months ago

Fried Green Tomatoes

Incredibly innovative and equally delicious! The fried green tomato dish is spectacular! Also must have are the calamari and the tuna salad .... Surely an unforgettable culinary find!

Hcanderson1 4 months ago

Philly

Beautiful space, great service and yummy sandwich! Highly recommend !

Alfordt 5 months ago

Trout Piccata

My favorite entree at Tugs! Absolutely delicious! Pairs well with another favorite, lemon drop martini! Danielle served us, as we were sitting at the bar. She's amazing and has such a vibe with the customers! We love the cool decor of Tugs. Our #1 place to dine while in Highlands! And we go often! Bon Appetite!

Alexandra 5 months ago

Philly

Excellent! Best one I have had in a long time! A must try!

Ckitchens 7 months ago

Trout Piccata

Had a wonderful dinner. Everyone in our group enjoyed their meal. I had the trout piccata which was outstanding. I look forward to returning.

Patce 8 months ago

Ahi Tuna Salad*

The very best Ahi Tuna Salad anywhere. Great atmosphere, great service and bar.

Clwilliams 8 months ago

Ahi Tuna Salad*

The Ahi Tuna salad was perfect! The service was friendly and prompt. We love the atmosphere! We returned for dinner on a UGA football weekend and really enjoyed our dinner and the crowd! The filet was amazing ! Cheryl

Clnantz 8 months ago

Charred Beet Salad

Gorgeous AND delicious. I added grilled chicken. 💙 Will definitely return to try more!

Higgskim 9 months ago

Buttermilk Chicken Caesar*

The chicken was amazing!!!! The salad dressing was light but filling. Packaged so carefully. Loved it!!!

Danielc2260 9 months ago

Charred Beet Salad

This was one of the tastiest, freshest & creative salads I've ever had. I love beats abs have not seen beats in other colors. Thank you for a healthy experience.

Jill 9 months ago

Trout Piccata

I was pleasantly surprised at the size and preparation of the trout. I'd order it again in a heartbeat. The buerre blanc sauce was not too heavy and just the perfect balance with the whipped potatoes. My dining partner had the P.E.I. Mussels and Caesar salad- both dishes which also put her in the clean the plate club!

Missywoolf 9 months ago

Trout Piccata

I never write reviews, but Tugs Proper went above and beyond to accommodate my food allergy. I ave an alpha gal food allergy and they custom created the trout piccata to my allergy need and it was absolutely amazing. I am forever grateful that my server took my allergy serious and the service was exceptional! I can't wait to go back! Side note: The live music was fabulous.

Lcwells 10 months ago

Goat Cheese Spinach and Butternut Squash Dip

We had a group of 4 adults and 5 kids. Everyone loved their meals and the atmosphere was great! We'll be back

Sdb1020 10 months ago

Charred Beet Salad

This was a fresh, well-presented, and delicious lunch salad. The golden beet was wonderful, and the pistachios added that extra-special flavor and touch to the salad. The greens were perky...very impportant! Nothing worse than soggy or old greens.

Darcy 10 months ago

Beef Tips*

As we walked in the door, we noticed the decor. Beautifully done in an almost shabby chic. Comfortable and well thought out with artwork of interesting photographs from the area. Staff was extremely warm and friendly. Led Zeppelin was playing. The menu is amazing. Hard to choose just one item. We each got a different dish and sampled each other's. You can't go wrong with anything you order. The fish melts in your mouth, the sauces are 5 star. Even the fried pickles are almost gourmet! Key Lime pie is the best I've tasted. Then, just when you think it can't get better, it does. We are having our wedding luncheon here. There are glass doors to divide our party from the rest of the restaurant. They are very responsive and the two people I've talked to so far are very accommodating. So if you're looking for a quiet romantic dinner, some place to take the family or perhaps a large party, THIS is your place! Trust me! Stay tuned for our review after our wedding in October. We'll let you know how they did. 😀

Susie 10 months ago

Goat Cheese Spinach and Butternut Squash Dip

This was so different and tasty! Had it as an appetizer and took some home for lunch the next day. Warmed up it was still great.

Kathrynknudson100 10 months ago

Black Angus Filet

Excellent filet. I eat out nightly in Atlanta and Highlands so I go to many different restaurants and try many different entrees. The filet at TUGS is one of the best I've ever enjoyed. That, coupled with the relaxed and inviting decor, make this a go to spot in Highlands. (And Amber is a great server!).

Perrymyers 6 days ago

Reuben

Tugs is a great place to eat in Highlands. It's one of those "step up" restaurants. The atmosphere is excellent. Tug himself is very personable as well. The first time I met him was at Highlands Country Club. He invited me and my family inside for a cup of coffee on a rainy day. His kindness, warmth, and taste for adventure is reflected in his restaurant. I have only eaten here once, and hope to become a recurring customer.

Isiscolex 13 days ago

Beyond Burger

So good honestly a favorite of mine since they opened up last year

Cheryl 2 months ago

Ahi Tuna Salad*

We had the Ahi Salad which was wonderful and the Beyond Burger which was delicious! The one choices are excellent and the prices are reasonable. we have eaten there for lunch & dinner and have brought our family as well. We always enjoy the atmosphere and the service at Tug's and we look forward to returning!

Pegprizes 4 months ago

Reuben

Excellent. Service was good and Reuben was on par w anything in nyc

Dale 5 months ago

Corn Dusted Fried Calamari

LOVED the Calamari!!! Perfectly, and lightly breaded and fried. Cooked properly without being overdone. Yum!

Betty 5 months ago

Corn Dusted Fried Calamari

These were so, so delicious.

Dusthein28 6 months ago

Chicken Salad

Chicken Salad Sandwich was the perfect lunchtime meal to fuel your day like a true hometown "Patriot"! Tell your server that you want it how Tug likes his so you can eat like a true Highlands ambassador... Great atmosphere, Beautiful Bar, Amazing staff and The Kitchen Team are some of Highlands finest. Ken and Tug will always treat you right nice....just like your family, Seeee!!! p.s.....Vote Helmer2020!!!*

Mjcorrell88 7 months ago

Reuben

Spot on Rueben. Great kraut, plenty of meet, and spectacular bread.

Beking 8 months ago

Reuben

Wonderful portion and so delicious. A side of fries just the right crispness and enough for two! Amy, our server extremely helpful, efficient and sweet!

Ccott2 8 months ago

Trout Piccata

Best Trout dish in Highlands. I have tried them all- Paolettis, Log cabin, meritage, Madisons. This is the best.

Rnrbaer27 8 months ago

Goat Cheese Spinach and Butternut Squash Dip

We were going to bypass the appetizers as we were ready for a meal but found the goat cheese, spinach, & butternut squash dip too intriguing to pass up. What a great starter! It was comfort food with an autumnal twist! The accompanying warm naan bread was the perfect vessel for this unique dish.

Pathomas359 9 months ago

Charred Beet Salad

Was in Highlands last month & enjoyed lunch. The ambiance is beautiful. Sadly I have been trying to reach you by phone all week to set up anniversary dinner for 10/18. I need a gift certificate & reservation if possible. 😊

Katie331 9 months ago

Salmon B.L.T.*

Great food and great atmosphere!

Jrwoolf 9 months ago

Pork Rib Chop*

One of the absolute best pork dishes I have ever had

Jrwoolf 9 months ago

Buttermilk Chicken Caesar*

The absolute best Caesar I have ever had. Tasty and filling.

Ksamford 10 months ago

Double Beyond Burger

The Beyond Burger is fabulous!!! It is now what I order every time I go to Tug's. I'm thrilled to find a meatless burger that tastes Just Like a Hamburger!!!

Jamesjohnson 10 months ago

Grilled Meatloaf

The food was great and reasonable priced. We strongly recommend Tugs.

Rachelsmth9 10 months ago

Tapas Plate

The Tapas Appetizer plate was delicious. The octopus was tender, the sauces were excellent and the whole plate was a delight to share.

Susie 10 months ago

Beef Tips*

Tender and delicious!

Tomgardner 10 months ago

Reuben

Great atmosphere, service and food.



PAST DRAWING WINNERS

June 2020:
Coming Soon

May 2020:
Carlson, Papi Grande's Mexican
Amherst, NY

April 2020:
Sommer, Little Calf Creamery 
Thousand Oaks, CA

March 2020:
Theresa, Woody's Crab House
North East, MD

February 2020:
Maria, The Rustik Fork
Riverside, CA

January 2020:
Marsha, Stefano's Restaurant
Florence, SC

December 2019:
Alma, Karai Ramen Bistro
Jacksonville, FL

November 2019:
Courtney, Axe & Arrow
Seattle, WA

October 2019:
Andy, Backwoods Brewing Co.
Portland, OR

September 2019:
Amanda, Home Restaurant
Los Angeles, CA

August 2019:
Jennifer, Mark's City Grill
Columbus, GA

July 2019:
Rebecca, Frank Gourmet
Buffalo, NY

June 2019:
Donna, Dino's Sports Bar
Cape Cod, MA

May 2019:
Karen, This Little Pig
Amherst, NY

April 2019:
Alicia, Plant Based Pizzeria
Atlanta, GA